Gotta Give Thanks…

So today, I’m fast approaching the two-week mark of my winter/spring season in Ocala. Today is also the celebration of American Thanksgiving! It’s good timing for a day that encourages me to sit back and reflect on all the blessings in my life.
This year has been tough, with what felt like blow after blow of less than ideal situations, mixed with some just downright crappy circumstances. This morning, I got to have a little sleep in, which was very welcome, considering I started work at the training track again on Monday! (thankful to be gainfully employed) Its been over 18 months since the last time I sat on a racehorse, at which time I was incredibly fit. But I’ve sat on 7 TBs each day all week, and my body hurts!!! (thankful for Advil) so, this morning at about 8am (thankful for sleep!) I got up, and fed the 3 lovely horses in my barn. (thankful for each of them for different reasons)

I have spent most of the day at a friend’s house, watching an all day Bones marathon on TV and eating a wonderful home cooked Turkey dinner with all the fixings. I may have missed Canuck thanksgiving every year since 2006, but I have always had a huge sense of family each year that I have spent in the USA, no matter which of my adoptive american families I have been with! (The Fork family in ’07, the Von Schweinitz in ’08, The Johns in ’09 and ’10, and The Barry’s in ’11!)

I certainly had a lot to be thankful for this time last year, enough that I’m still thankful for it now and will be for the rest of my life. This year, even though my blessings may not be quite so obvious, I still end up with a whole lot of reasons to be grateful, including a hopeful view of the future 🙂 I hope that all of you can say the same!!

One response to “Gotta Give Thanks…

  1. Have fun this winter Stephanie. Good luck with all of your future endeavors to get to London and more. Supporting you from Canada every step of the way. 🙂

    Regards

    Brook Pickering

Leave a Reply

